Ohio Lawsuit Funding

On August 29th of 2008 the state of Ohio will allow plaintiffs that have been involved in personal injury lawsuits the ability to secure lawsuit cash advances. Ohio, the last state throughout the United States has recently passed the law that would allow litigation financing for all pre-settlement, structured settlement annuity, commercial litigation financing and law firm loans.

The decision was made by the Ohio Supreme Court after a 180 year law. Prior to the decision, those people that filed a personal injury claim in Ohio could not secure funding. While many people tried to secure funding in Ohio, funding companies were legally bound not to advance money against a lawsuit.

Lawsuit funding for most people is a way to pay down medical expenses, credit card debt and mortgage and rent payments while waiting for their case to settle. For those companies that provide non-recourse funding this means an increase in case load. Lawsuit funding has become a big business in the United States over the past 10 years. An increase in the amount of companies that provide funding has almost doubled in that same time period.

Ohio has passed a law to allow lawsuit funding for a variety of case types including but not limited to:

  • Animal & Dog Bites
  • Amusement Park
  • Assault & Battery
  • Automobile Accidents
  • Asbestos Cases
  • Aviation Accidents
  • Bicycle Accidents
  • Boating Accidents
  • Birth Injuries
  • Brain Injuries
  • Burn Injury
  • Bus Accidents
  • Car Accidents
  • Catastrophic Injuries
  • Construction Accidents
  • Defective Products
  • Drug & Pharmaceutical Cases
  • Maritime
  • Medical Malpractice
  • Mesothelioma
  • Motorcycle Accidents
  • Motor Vehicle Accidents
  • Nursing Home Negligence
  • Pedestrian Accidents
  • Premises Liability
  • Product Liability
  • Railroad & Train Accidents
  • Slip & Fall
  • Swimming Pool Accidents
  • Tort
  • Toxic Mold
  • Tractor Trailer Accidents
  • Truck Accidents
  • Workers’ Compensation
  • Wrongful Death

Content Provided By LawLeaf:

If you are searching for additional information on lawsuit funding in Ohio, we invite you to visit our lawsuit funding website today at http://www.lawleaf.com. LawLeaf is an online litigation financing company that matches those searching for a lawsuit cash advance with lenders ready to compete for their business.

4 Responses

  1. Does this mean I can apply for lawsuit funding now in Ohio? If its not passed or will be a few more months can I still apply and I just wait?

  2. If you are applying for lawsuit funding in Ohio most companies right now will take your application but they can’t loan you the cash until the date stated on this article.

    If you are certain that you want funding better to apply sooner than later. I do believe they can begin to get the paperwork ready for approvals but each company is different.

  3. Dear Whoever,

    I got an appointment on August 22, 2008 at 12:15 P.M. at CAM for a comprehensive substance abuse assessment. I got referred by Crisis Care in my first appointment with them! I don’t know what CAM does but I’m hoping that they will help me with my mental health problems! Then I got appointment for S.S.I. on Tuesday August 26, 2008 at 3:00 P.M. for a disability advocacy program! So what do I need to know so I can get S.S.I. or something? The doctors said I have borderline personality disorder, trichotillomania, bipolar disorder, seasonal affective disorder, etc.! I got like 20 hospital stays and I’m keeping track of them on paper and a food stamp card in Ohio and in Florida. I am getting medicaid / medicare card so what else do I need? I got all my medical bills, social security paperwork, Ohio bureau of workers compensation deny letter, hospital records, etc. I hit my head at DHL on 01-11-06 and the accident happen at work. I am going to get a lawyer or
    something to help me on it! I take medical for it and I need to know what else to do! It is family related since my mom’s mom had mental health problams. I applied for S.S.I. recently and they denied me because the S.S.I. people thought I had a $3,000.00 dollar workman computation case but I never got the money and the case was denied! So what else do I need to do or what do I to have to do?

    Sincerely,
    Miss. Katie Casoni

  4. I’m assuming this question isn’t about lawsuit funding in Ohio because in Ohio you can’t get lawsuit funding for a workers compensation or SSI case. What you need to do is hire a SSI lawyer. I would immediately contact the attorney (most should work on an contingent basis) and have them try to get you the annuity checks. SSI although in the same league as workers compensation they aren’t the same. You need legal representation.

Leave a Reply

